Basic Vanilla Cream Cupcakes

Just like a good, basic chocolate cupcake recipe, every baker should have a go-to vanilla cupcake recipe. For me, a good vanilla cupcake is hard to beat! I know, I know, everyone loves chocolate but for some reason when it comes to cakes and cupcakes, vanilla is always my favorite. However, vanilla cupcakes can be particularly prone to being rather, shall we say, tasteless… That tends to be my biggest gripe with the pre-packaged ones, anyway. Although the flavors in this recipe remain understated, there’s still a clear, creamy vanilla flavor that’s sure to please any cupcake connoisseur!

Basic Vanilla Cream Cupcakes
Yields 12 cupcakes

Ingredients:
1 cup all purpose flour
1/2 stick butter (57 grams)
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. baking powder
1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
2 eggs
1/3 cup milk
1/3 cup heavy whipping cream, whipped

Start by preheating your oven to 350* Fahrenheit (175* Celsius). In a large bowl, cream the butter on high until smooth and creamy. Add both the granulated sugar and powdered sugar, and mix until combined and smooth again. Now add the baking soda, baking powder, and vanilla extract, again mixing until the ingredients are well mixed. Add the two eggs. Be sure to mix the batter very well at this point so that the eggs are completely incorporated. This may take an extra minute or two. Add the milk and mix well. Now it’s time to add the final two ingredients. I like to two this in 3 increments: 1/2 cup flour, whipped cream, 1/2 cup flour, mixing between each addition. Once all of the ingredients have been added and the batter is well mixed, pour your batter into your lined cupcake pans, and bake for 18-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Happy baking!

5 thoughts on “Basic Vanilla Cream Cupcakes

  1. I’ll have to try this recipe! I am on the search for the perfect vanilla cupcake, but they keep flopping. Many of my homemade cupcakes seem very dense… any tips to remedy this?!

    • In my experience, density seems to come mostly from too much (dense) liquid in the recipe. The box variety has an advantage here because they tend to call only for water and oil with everything else being powdered. However, the problem with box mixes is that they can be really dry. So the choice tends to be moist, dense cupcakes or dry, fluffy cupcakes. I would recommend playing around with reducing the liquid and seeing if that doesn’t give you the texture you’d prefer. For example, in this recipe the heavy whipped cream was added to make the cupcakes moist, but it’ll also add a lot of density, so I would suggest leaving that out if you want light and fluffy. 🙂

      • I will keep that in mind, and now that you mention the too much liquid, I can definitely think of a few of my recipes that have turned out dense and called for a lot of liquid. I’ll keep experimenting. 🙂 Thank you so much for the tips!

      • I think it’s all about finding that perfect balance between just enough liquid to make the cupcakes moist, but not so much so as to make them dense. Unfortunately I can’t tell you exactly what that is (mine tend to come out a little denser but very moist), but I’m glad I could point you in the right direction. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Strawberries!!! | Sweet Adventures

Leave a Reply

