Lemon and White Chocolate Cookies

???????????????????????????????

When I first moved to Norway, I received a lot of questions from Norwegians about the US. In particular, I received a number of questions about American food, like what foods were typical and how were they made. I was happy to answer these questions, but I began to think it would just be easier, and a whole lot more fun, to start making some of my favorites. I started with an American classic: chocolate chip cookies. My husband enjoyed them, but had one complaint. I chalked it up to personal taste and went on making and serving my cookies (and later cupcakes) to other Norwegians. Although they all enjoyed them, they had the same complaint as my husband. What was the complaint? Too sweet. Wait, wait, hold the phone. Too sweet? Is there even such a thing?! Okay, admittedly I have a slight sugar addiction and therefore love anything with sugar in it. The more the better, really. But I understand that not everyone shares my love for all things highly sugary. So my Mum sent me a delicious recipe to satisfy the less sugary sweet-tooth.

Lemon and White Chocolate Cookies
Yields 20-23 cookies

Ingredients:

1 stick (113 grams) butter, at room temperature
1 cup granulated sugar
1 egg
1 tbsp. milk
1 tsp. lemon juice
1 tsp. vanilla extract
2 cups all purpose flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1 cup white chocolate chips
2 tsp. grated lemon zest

Start by preheating your oven to 350* Fahrenheit (175* Celsius). In a large bowl, cream the butter until smooth, and mix in the sugar until it returns to a smooth, creamy consistency.  Add the egg, milk, lemon juice, vanilla extract, and baking soda, and mix until all ingredients are thoroughly combined. One cup at a time, add the flour, mixing between each new addition. Make sure your dough is dry enough to handle by pinching a small amount between your fingers. If it sticks, add more flour, but if it pulls away clean or mostly clean, your ready to proceed. Add the white chocolate chips and lemon zest, and mix until just incorporated.

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

Roll one inch balls of dough and place them on your baking sheets. Bake for 13-15 minutes, or until the cookies are just golden brown. Let them cool on the baking sheet for a few minutes before removing them to a cooling rack.

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

Happy baking!

Sources:
Cookie recipe slightly adapted from Half Hour Meals

Leave a Reply

